Custom Conversion, Editing, and Formatting Simplified

Jun 7, 2011 at 6:51 PM

I really like the wpg but it was way too difficult to get custom formatting to function at a granular level.  I have a lot of experience working with the type and property descriptors from a previous job so i took a look at the code to see what i could do to simplify things.  I didn't want to make too many changes, just the bare minimum to extend the abilities of the wpg to include simplified custom conversion (i.e. formatting).  I know there are probably a lot of people who want to convert their old winforms pg to wpg and have probably stumbled in this area (because there is no simple conversion, until now), so I included two methods of doing the custom conversions.  One is the old way, using TypeConverter attributes on the properties, and the second way is the newer approach of using data templates. Hopefully this satisfies all parties.